ISE Faculty Awards and Honors


  • NASA SBIR award
  • NSF CAREER award
  • two ARPA-E ATLANTIS awards


  • ONR Young Investigator Award (2001)
  • NSF CAREER Award (1998)
  • Alcoa Foundation Award (1997)
  • ORAU Junior Faculty Award (1997)


  • Finalist, Informs Manufacturing & Service Operations Management Society best operations management paper published in Operations Research (2021)
  • Third Prize, The CSAMSE Annual Conference Best Paper Award (2019)
  • First Prize, The CSAMSE Annual Conference Best Paper Award (2014)
  • INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Prize (2009)
  • INFORMS Junior Faculty Interest Group Paper Competition, Finalist (2008)


  • NSF CAREER Award (2020)


  • Dean's award for excellence in research (2022)
  • NSF CAREER Award (2020)
  • NSF CRII Award (2018)
  • INFORMS Koopman Prize (2021) for the paper "Multi-Agent UAV Routing: A Game Theory Analysis with Tight Price of Anarchy Bounds" 
  • Exemplary Theory Paper Award at 21st ACM EC (2020) for "EFX Exists for Three Agents"


  • Central Illinois Business Forty under 40 (2021)


  • NSF CAREER Award 
  • Best Paper Award, ASME Design for Manufacturing and Life Cycle Conference
  • ASME Kos Ishii - Toshiba Award (2019)
  • John Deere Innovation Award (2015) 
  • Reviewers' choice award in ICED13 conference
  • Reviewers' choice award in ICED19 conference
  • Reviewers' choice award in ICED21 conference


  • NSF CAREER Award (2015)
  • Freudenstein Young Investigator award from ASME (2017)


  • University of Illinois Center for Advanced Study Fellow 2021-22, with Board of Trustees approval.
  • INFORMS Aviation Applications Section, Best Student Paper Honorable Mention with student Jing Gao, 2020
  • Best paper award, System Performance track, International Conference for Research and Air Transportation (ICRAT) 2020
  • KDD Startup Research Award for paper with Deepair Solutions, 25th ACM SIGKDD, 2019
  • Top-10 most cited paper in Transportation Research – Part A, 2016-2019, “An Empirical Analysis of Bike Sharing Usage and Rebalancing: Evidence from Barcelona and Seville”
  • Best Technical Presentation, AGIFORS Revenue Management Study Group Conference, AGIFORS, May 2019.5
  • AGIFORS Anna Valicek Award Honorable mention with student Jane Lee, 2018
  • INFORMS Transportation Science and Logistics (TSL) Society, Cross-Regional Collaboration Grant, sponsored by Kalyx Warehousing; with Prof. Gitakrishnan Ramadurai as collaborator from India, 2017-2018.


  • IIE Fellow Award (2010)
  • Business First of Buffalo's "40 under Forty" award (2004)
  • SME's Milton C. Shaw Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award (1999)
  • IIE's Outstanding Young Industrial Engineer Award in Academia (1999)
  • NSF CAREER Award (1996)


  • Best Paper ASAE (2001) (out of 150)
  • Best Control Systems Paper SCI2001 (IEEE) (out of 500)
  • John Deere Innovation Award


  • ASNT 2020 Lester/Mehl Honor Lecture (2020)
  • ASNT 2016 Research Council Award for Sustained Excellence (2016)
  • Outstanding Paper published in the ASNT Journal of Materials Evaluation (12 Issues) during 2015
  • ASME 2015 NDPD Founders’ Award (2015), ASME Diagnosis and Prognosis Division (2015)
  • ASNT George L. Pherigo Tutorial Citation Award (2002)
  • SPACE AWARD, Space Society, 2001, --- From the Space Society, for contributions to Float’n Illini, 2001.


  • 2017 Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany.
  • 2009 Arnold O. Beckman Research Award, University of Illinois.
  • 2009 Xerox Award for Faculty Research, College of Engineering, University of Illinois.
  • 2008 Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship Award (duration 2008-2010), Bonn, Germany


  • INFORMS Fellow (2021)
  • The INFORMS Applied Probability Society Best Publication Award (2004)
  • ACM Sigmetrics'96 Conference Best Simulation Paper (1996)


  • INFORMS Optimization Society Student Paper Competition, Honorable Mention (2015)
  • INFORMS George Nicholson Student Paper Competition, Second Place (2015)


  • Trusted CI Open Science Cybersecurity Fellowship 2019-2020, I was a member of the inaugural cohort of fellows.
  • Best Paper Award in EISIC 2018 with Sean Suehr for Now You See Me: Identifying Duplicate Network Personas.
  • Gerondelis Foundation Scholarship of 5,000$ for excellence in studies (2011).
  • Awards in the Hellenic Mathematical Society Competition for all prefectures except for Attiki and Thessaloniki in 1998 (1st), 1999 (1st), and 2000 (3rd).


  • ASME-DAC Best Paper Award (ASME, 2008)
  • Future Faculty Program (FFP) Fellowship (U. Maryland, 2009~2010)
  • First Award (NSF Kansas EPSCoR, 2011)
  • Strategic Engineering Research Fellowship (WSU CoE, 2011)
  • IEEE PHM Best Paper Award (IEEE Reliability Society, 2012)
  • Young Researcher Award (ISGMA, 2012)
  • ASME-DAC Best Paper Award (ASME, 2013)
  • Wallace Award for Excellence in Research (WSU, 2014)
  • NSF CAREER Award (NSF, 2014)
  • ASME Design Automation Young Investigator Award (ASME, 2016)
  • IISE Best Paper Award for QCRE Track (IISE, 2020)
  • ASME Journal of Mechanical Design Associate Editor Award, 2020


  • The Robert L. Wears Early Career Award, Healthcare Technical Group, Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (2021)
  • Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2020 Award for edited volume Advancing Diversity, Inclusion, and Social Justice Through Human Systems Engineering (2020)
  • National Science Foundation Smart and Connected Health Aspiring PI Award, 2020 Advancing Health Through Science Workshop (2020)
  • University of Illinois System’s Presidential Medallion (2021) Note: This is the highest award in the University of Illinois System
  • Grainger Engineering COVID-19 Wall of Recognition in Engineering (2021)
  • Advisor/co-author of Winner, HFES Health Care Technical Group Marilyn Sue Bogner Student Paper Award (2021)
  • Advisor/co-author of Winner, HFES Health Care Technical Group Marilyn Sue Bogner Student Paper Award (2020)
  • Winner, Best Paper Award, International Conference on Quantitative Ethnography 2019 (2019)