The William A. Chittenden Award

To an outstanding Master of Science Graduate in ISE.

William Chittenden received his B.S. degree in General Engineering in 1950 and proudly served in the United States Marines during both World War II and the Korean War. Bill joined Sargent and Lundy in Chicago in 1952, where he moved through the ranks of Project Manager, Project Director, and Manager of the Mechanical Engineering Department. In 1977 he was named Director of Engineering and several years later Director of Services. He currently is a retired Senior Partner (CEO) of the firm.

During his tenure at Sargent and Lundy, Bill pioneered the development of design procedures for nuclear power plants and supervised the design and construction of a number of both fossil-fuel and nuclear power plants. He is the author of more than 41 technical papers and is a registered professional engineer in 21 states. He is a Fellow of both the American Nuclear Society and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and a member of the prestigious National Academy of Engineering.

In 1978, Bill received the Gamma Epsilon Distinguished Alumnus Award. In 1989 he received the University of Illinois, College of Engineering’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. He remains actively involved with Engineering at Illinois and was a charter member of the Dean’s Board of Visitors.

Past Recipients of the Award:


Megan McGovern

Ketan Date

2016 Andrea Cadenbach
Chandrasekaran Jayaraman
2015 Zhenyu Hu
2014 Richard Reskoske
2013 Aida S. Williams
2012 Mark D. Michelotti
2011 Matthew Ralph
Rui Yang
2010 Todd Baxter
2009 Ankur A. Kulkarni
Christopher G. Valicka
2008 Conrad S. Tucker
2007 Juan Mejia
2006 Andrew P. Williams
2005 Noureddine Tayebi
2004 Roberto Andrade
Nikhil Chopra
2003 Arash Mahboobin
2002 Kumara Sastry
2001 R. Ryan Ohs
2000 Joel Krauska
1999 Rex Andrew Wagner
1998 William R. Norris
1997 Daniel Block
Kaitlin Sherwood
1995 Edward L. Spellman II
1993 Julie A. Jewell
1991 Margaret A. Schneller
1989 Matthew A. King