Dorothy B. and Donald W. White Scholarship

To two students in Systems Engineering and Design who have a secondary field of concentration in construction engineering or non-destructive testing.

Donald White graduated from the Department of General Engineering in 1950 with an emphasis in civil engineering courses. He had a long and interesting career in commercial and industrial construction, centered mostly in the Chicago area. Don did a significant amount of work in Oakbrook, Illinois during the 60s and 70s growth boom, with construction of numerous office towers, hotels, and headquarters buildings. He also consulted on the construction of the 311 South Wacker Building in the Chicago Loop, the world’s tallest concrete structure. Don truly enjoyed his career in engineering and wanted to support and encourage dedicated sophomore and junior students in General Engineering to “pursue the challenge of their future careers in the field of construction.” Therefore, he established the Donald W. White Scholarship in 1996. This scholarship is awarded to two students in General Engineering who have a secondary field of concentration in Construction Engineering or Nondestructive Testing based upon scholarship and activities.

Past Recipients of the Award


Audrey Freeman
Issa Fouani


Jake Guth
Ruth Ann Haefli


Rachel Zilz

Rachel Rong

2016 Thomas Kukec
Josh Weisberg
2013 Bruce D. Kim
Chester Naleway
2012 Stacey Ceretti
Chester Naleway
2011 Kirby Reifsteck
Joshua Simons
2010 Julianne Carpenter
Megan Hybinette
2009 Peter Brask
Maria Lupo
2008 Lane F. Dietmeier
Andrew Victor
2007 Michael Gaw
Mary Yahl
2006 Benjamin Edmiston
Eric Jansen (continuing holder)
2005 Eric E. Jansen
Jenna Rowell (continuing holder)
2004 Jenna Rowell
Adam R. Hardy
2003 Todd M. Riordan
Alena R. Doyle (continuing holder)
2002 Alena R. Doyle
Peggy H. Ho (continuing holder)
2001 Peggy H. Ho
Stephen Meyer (continuing holder)
2000 Stephen Meyer
Bryan Quigley
1999 Molly K. Princehorn
1998 Elizabeth Rosiello
David Schultz (continuing holder)
1997 David Schultz
Frank Maciasz