Herbert J. Sprengel Award

The Herbert J. Sprengel Award is presented to the student completing the best SED 232 balsa wood design project in the previous calendar year.

Herbert Sprengel received his B.S. in 1936 in Engineering Physics and an M.S. in Physics in 1937, both from the University of Illinois. Herb taught at the Illinois Institute of Technology during the Second World War, as well as worked with General Electric. In 1946 he went to Continental X-Ray Corporation in Chicago, where he started as Factory Manager and rose to Secretary-Treasurer and Manager of Manufacturing and Engineering. In 1951 he returned to General Electric Corporation. In 1968 Herbert joined the Department of General Engineering. He taught GE 103, 104, and 242, drawing upon his vast experience to enrich these courses.

Past Recipients of the Award

2017 Alexander Moses
2016 Kimberly Hagen
2015 Alex Wen
2014 Michael Brooks
2013 Tyler Anderson
2012 Michael E. Ralph
2011 Stephen Moore
2010 Michael Schmitz
2009 Patrick Schau
2008 Marc A. Morin, Jr.
2007 Dan Wallenberg
2006 Matthew C. Ludmer
2005 Tad R. Sligar
2004 Andrew Block
2003 Timothy S. Hughes
2002 Timothy C. Ennesser
2001 Benjamin D. Rigby
2000 Kevin Coonan
1999 Laura J. Nalbandian
1998 Phillip McCratic
1997 Se Uk Oh
1996 Brian Goldberg
1995 Larry Carpenter
1994 Jillian Borthwick
1993 Eric D. Strand
1992 Jeff Cortez
1991 John W. Lewis, Jr.
1990 not available
1989 Hyung N. Raphael